Here’s To Hoagy

Album art for Here’s To Hoagy

Share this post…

Track Listing

1 The Nearness of You
2 Don't Forget to Say No, Baby / Billy-A-Dick
3 Balitmore Oriole / Skylark
4 Small Fry
5 Stardust
6 Georgia On My Mind
7 Hong Kong Blues
8 I Get Along with You Very Well (Except Sometimes)
9 Huggin' and Chalkin'
10 Moon Country / Winter Moon
11 Bread and Gravy
12 The Monkey Song
13 Serenade to Gabriel
14 Ole Buttermilk Sky

Praise for Here’s To Hoagy…

  • “a masterful homage to Hoagy”

    — Chicago Tribune
  • “an exquisitely sung and elegantly paced tribute”

    — Howard Reich, Jazz Critic
  • “Cory Jamison acquits herself of a near-perfect 'Nearness of You'”

    — The Village Voice
  • “If the centennial of Hoagy Carmichael is going to inspire just one new recording, then this release deserves to be it. Chicagoan Cory Jamison is nearly an ideal interpreter of Carmichael’s music, her light, lyric soprano befitting the composer’s delicate touch with music and, occasionally, words. The illusion of nonchalance Jamison achieves in uptempo pieces and her straightforward delivery in ballads point to a singer who’s shrewd enough not to oversell the material. With such estimable players as trumpeters Scott Hall and Rob Parton, pianist Dan Stetzel and harmonica virtuoso Howard Levy, Jamison is in superb company. The liner notes include all the song lyrics, which are welcome.”

    — Uncredited

Leave a review


San Francisco-based Cory Jamison is one of the leading new cabaret artists in America. She has charmed audiences throughout the US with her insightful and sensitive interpretations of American popular song. Jamison is best known for her critically acclaimed interpretations…