Album art for Out Of The Blue

Share this post…

Track Listing

1 Little Girl Blue
2 Ill Wind
3 Who Can I Turn To?
4 The Man I Love
5 More Than You Know/The More I See You
6 Isn't It Romantic
7 But Beautiful
8 Sun And Moon
9 Adriana And Katharine
10 Strawberry Song/Our Love Is Here To Stay
11 To Dream Again
12 I'm Flying

Praise for Out Of The Blue…

  • “When one applies for a job, sometimes the response is that you're overqualified. The same may be the case for Peisha McPhee. Her classically trained, strong, clear voice of operatic proportions doesn't always fit well with the songs on the play list, songs that require somewhat more vocal dynamics than McPhee gives. Trying hard as she can to restrain her powerful voice, she comes on too strong for such pop material as "Ill Wind" and "Little Girl Blue," which require greater subtlety than McPhee provides. At the same time, her voice and demeanor go well with songs that have a strong emotional tug, such as "Who Can I Turn To?" There's also a cleverly contrived dubbed a cappella duet on "Isn't It Romantic." But her forte is in the Gershwin material. "The Man I Love" and the Gershwin medley require the dramatic reading that a formidable voice like McPhee's can give them. Her sole accompaniment for this session is pianist, composer, and voice teacher Mel Dangcil. Usually the concern is that the piano player may overwhelm the singer. Not the case here. Dangcil has to work hard not be swamped by the strong voice of McPhee. The result is that matters sometimes get a bit busy. McPhee needs more than just a piano to provide an adequate framework for her exceptional voice. For the pure pleasure of hearing a lovely voice, this album is recommended.”

    — Dave Nathan - AMG EXPERT REVIEW

Leave a review


Peisha has been charming international audiences for several years with her expressive and versatile voice. With a style that has been called " a return to cabaret elegance and sophistication," and "sometimes sultry and provocative, other times disarmingly comedic." This…